Review: Earthly Choice Farrato

As my family and I make progress on our whole food/semi raw/semi vegetarian journey, I am trying to introduce different grains, vegetables and fruits that we have never tried before. Tonight’s pick was farro. Farro is often referred to as an ancient grain and was eaten by the poor back in Roman times. It has had a big revival due to it’s healthiness and taste. To me it tastes like a combination between brown rice and oatmeal (I know..lol) but it has a nutty aroma that blends well with different foods.. You can use in place of rice or pasta.

I decided to try a packaged product first and choose Nature’s Earthly Choice. The ingredients included farro wheat, zucchini, rice flour, peas, vegetable stock, potato flakes and slew of spices. It did have skimmed milk powder too. It ended up tasting reallygood.

farro

To round out our meal I lightly rubbed some red peppers with olive oil (after parboiling) and sauteed some onions to mix into the farro . I stuffed the peppers with the mixture and finished off in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes. While that was cooking, I steamed some broccoli, and chopped up purple cabbage, red onion, carrots and celery and mixed with a little soy sauce, honey and sesame oil to make a raw salad.

Ended up with this scumptiousness!  I will buy the whole grain farro next time.

food

Leave a Reply

