Chia Seed Jam

I have been on a healthy lifestyle journey lately. As I tread the path toward a more whole foods way of eating, I have been trying more recipes that will also encourage my family to willingly join me.

One thing my sons love is jam and preserves. Grape jam, strawberry jam, peach preserves, you name it, they will slather it on any kind of bread! Well I wanted to find a tasty recipe that had much less sugar and would have some nutritional benefits also.

Well when i came across a recipe for strawberry jam made with chia seeds, I was very hyped. This was the simplest recipe one could make. It doesn’t even have to be cooked. The original recipe is here www.eatingbirdfood.com/2012/05/easy-strawberry-chia-seed-jam/

Chia seeds (yes, think Chia pets!) are an excellent source of fiber, and omega-3 fatty acids and minerals. Strawberries, besides being just delicious, are fat-free and have a high vitamin C content. How could I not try this raw jam?

I modified a recipe found on line and mixed 2 cups of thawed frozen strawberries mashed well with a fork,and mixed in 2 tablespoons of chia seeds, two tablespoons of water and 2 tablespoons of organic brown rice syrup. I mixed well and placed the mixture in a mason jar and refrigerated overnight.

In the morning, I found a half empty jar. That made me feel real food. I love feeding my family what is good or them.

Leave a Reply

