Homemade Red Pepper Hummus

I really enjoy eating hummus. It’s an awesome dip as well as an alternative to salad dressing. My wholesale grocer carries Sabra brand hummus and I usually buy 1-2 containers a month at about $5 each.

That was find with me until I came across this post on facebook.

sabra gmo slideWhat?! Not my hummus, nothing is safe anymore! This prompted me to start making my own hummus and with each batch the flavor and texture has improved. I have finally now come up with a recipe that my family loves and there are no complaints.

IMG_1414[1]Red Pepper Hummus

Ingredients:
1 med red pepper
1/4 cup tahini
1 lemon juiced
1tsp garlic minced
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cumin
2tbsp olive oil
1 can chickpeas
Directions
Combine all ingredients except chickpeas in blender/food processor. Once they are well combined add in chickpeas, process until smooth. Voila!

Tips: The red pepper has a high water content, if your hummus comes out to watery you can add extra chickpeas to compensate, or just refrigerate and let it set up. If you are cooking your chickpeas about 1 cup of dry chickpeas will make 15 oz cooked. If you don’t have juicer, cut your lemon in half and microwave for 20 seconds, then squeeze while pressing flesh with a spoon and be sure to remove the seed before adding to your blender/food processor.

I buy my canned chickpeas in bulk 6 cans for $4.99 at my local wholesale grocer. The Tahini I use is purchased at my local middle eastern grocer.

cheaptista2

Leave a Reply

